Drupal, testing, theming, usability

My experience with Drupal Gardens Usability Test – Advanced Theming (remote test – 1 hour)

On 18th October (Monday) I spent an hour with remote Acquia team & Drupal Gardens for usability testing.
The timing proposed and scheduled for 9pm IST which means that will work perfectly for me and the team at Acquia

There were two site. One themed site see the screenshot attached.

And the other one was a separate test site (below one) on which i have to carry out the theming tasks in a specified order (see the screenshots attached) and to make the below site to look as above one.

This was the priorities order to execute the theming tasks from the user end. That was to be carried out on white background site (above screenshot)

(Click on image for a larger version)

sept20-4-1

(Click on image for a larger version)

Overall the task were fairly easy with already having a Drupal theming and site building experience.

But it took some time to me also initially to find the necessary tabs. And to execute the necessary theming tasks from Drupal Gardens front end theming controls only! But with increased time I was able to get more momentum.

The test team also had expectations from the test. That’s what I have judged and noticed during the test.

  • Is the end user able to carry out the individual task and whats the mental path followed to do the same
  • Whats the Drupal exposure of the end user tester and how long he/she is working with Drupal & skill set.
  • The mental and verbal blanks uh mm and erm during the test. And the notes were also taken for the same (For which I am very sure!).
  • Are the front end (drupalgardens) theming controls are self explanatory or intuitive enough?

I had also some expectations and questions from my side.

My questions were as follows (which I had asked in the beginning of the test) :

  1. How long the testing is going on drupalgardens?
  2. Whats the overall response Acquia have been getting from the community?

Ofcourse, there answers are not that easy. And probably the work ethics not allowed to talk FREELY on these points from this end point.

Anyways that was also some sort of feedback from my end, apart from the points addressed and feedback after the test more from the UX end.

This was the first usability test and  a fresh exercise that I have done as end test user. Apart from doing lots of Drupal theming development and cross browser testing (3 years till date)

Build Better and Happy Usability testing Acquia😀 !

Standard